Coronavirus: EU To Permit Guests From 14 ‘Safe’ Nations

Source: BBC

The EU has named 14 nations whose residents are considered “safe” to be let in from 1 July, despite the pandemic – however, the US, Brazil, and China are excluded.

Those named include Australia, Canada, Japan, Morocco, and South Korea.

The EU is prepared to include China if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal deal for EU travelers, diplomats say.

Many borders controls have been lifted for EU residents travelling inside the bloc. Rules for UK voyagers are a piece of the current Brexit negotiations.

Be that as it may, UK nationals are still to be treated similarly as EU residents until the finish of the Brexit progress period on 31 December, the EU Commission says.

So during this period UK nationals and their relatives are excluded from the EU’s temporary travel restriction.

On the current “safe” list, still prone to be revised, are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

EU nations in the 26-member Schengen zone normally allow passport-free border crossings for EU citizens, but national authorities have reimposed restrictions in this crisis.

The UK is at present negotiating temporary “air bridges” with a few EU part states, so that coronavirus doesn’t absolutely square summer occasions – the busiest season in Europe for the travel industry, which utilizes a large number of people.

The EU methodology to formalize the rundown, and measures by which nations are judged safe or not, are to be settled by late morning on Tuesday.

A qualified major part of EU nations – at any rate, 55% of the EU nations, speaking to 65% of the EU population – have signed off on list.

There were parts between those, for example, Spain – needing the increase in the travel industry, yet liking to play safe since they have been hit so hard by Covid-19 – and others like Greece and Portugal, which depend on tourism but are less scarred by the virus.

A week ago reports said member states were surveying two unique records. The Politico site said one secured nations with less than 16 Covid-19 cases for every 100,000 individuals and the other with up to 20 cases, which would incorporate Canada and Turkey.

The rundown is relied upon to be updated like clockwork, so the US could be included later. Earlier this month the European Commission also stressed that reopening borders with non-EU states in the Western Balkans were a priority from 1 July.

However, EU member Croatia said last week that travelers from Serbia, Kosovo, Bosnia, and North Macedonia would all face 14-day self-isolation, because of an increase in infections.

This article is originally posted on BBC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




What do you think?

hong kong

China Affirms Controversial National Security Law For Hong Kong

Hong Kong Police

Hong Kong Cops Make The First Arrest Under The New Security Law